Secure Autonomous
FeedbackGet alertsCheck a deployment
Cases / REG-0017

NHTSA opens an investigation into Tesla Full Self-Driving after crashes in reduced visibility, including a fatal pedestrian strike, October 2024

Ended in harmMachines · Road vehiclesHuman supervisesProduction
REG-0017Updated 2026-10-285 sources, 5 linkedPublic regulatory

Disclosure: The editor owns shares in Tesla, a long-term holding from before the Register began. See Independence.

What happened

NHTSA opened an investigation into Tesla's Full Self-Driving (Supervised), covering about 2.4 million vehicles, after four crashes in sun glare, fog or airborne dust with the system engaged, one of them killing a pedestrian. On the record, nothing stated prevented engagement in reduced visibility, and whether the system detects and responds to those conditions is the open question. NHTSA has since widened it to an engineering analysis.

A plain summary of the typed record below; where they differ, the record governs.

Verification: 6 of 6 checks complete
✓ Structured and checkedevery claim typed and sourced, then checked by the Register's automated checker for missing sources and mistyped claims
✓ Sources linked5 of 5 sources link to the record (5 to a primary record)
✓ Sources checked claim by claimevery claim checked against its source on 2026-10-20
✓ Interpretation checked statement by statementeach statement of the Register's interpretation checked against a source on 2026-10-21
✓ Reviewed by the editorreviewed 2026-10-28
✓ Reply offeredTesla: offered
Corrections · 23, latest 2026-10-21

Changes to what this case says, with the reason. Every earlier version is kept.

  • 2026-10-21: Inference: signed by. The interpretation's wording changed after the editor signed it (second, independent check of 21 october 2026); the signature is cleared so the editor signs the corrected wording.
    Show the change
    Before: Saurabh Bhatnagar
    After:
  • 2026-10-21: Inference: value. Found in the editor's second, independent check of the interpretations, 21 october 2026: this comes from nhtsa's march 2026 opening summary (ea26002_open); tesla has since filed confidential answers to questions asking for these dates and vehicles, so the statement is dated to its source.
    Show the change
    Before: A case about sensing. The regulator's stated focus is whether a camera-only driver-assistance system detects when glare, fog or dust has degraded its own perception, and warns the human supervising it in time to respond; in the crashes it reviewed, it says the system did not detect the problem or did not warn until immediately before the crash. The record does not show a defect finding or a recall, and the regulator does not yet know when the maker's updated detection reached which vehicles. It is the physical twin of an agent that keeps acting on inputs it cannot verify without saying so
    After: A case about sensing. The regulator's stated focus is whether a camera-only driver-assistance system detects when glare, fog or dust has degraded its own perception, and warns the human supervising it in time to respond; in the crashes it reviewed, it says the system did not detect the problem or did not warn until immediately before the crash. The record does not show a defect finding or a recall, and in March 2026 the regulator said it had no information on when the maker's updated detection was deployed or which vehicles had it. It is the physical twin of an agent that keeps acting on inputs it cannot verify without saying so
  • 2026-10-20: Inference: value. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the ea26002 opening resume frames the question as the system's ability 'to detect degradation and alert the driver with sufficient time to respond', not whether it may engage in poor visibility, which was the earlier wording's mechanism; it also says 'odi does not have information on when the update was deployed and which vehicles have the updated system'. the unchecked superlative 'clearest' is dropped. the interpretation was already unsigned (signed_by null); the editor must sign the new wording.
    Show the change
    Before: {"value": "The Register's clearest case about sensing: should a driver-assistance system be allowed to engage in visibility conditions its sensors May not handle? It is the physical twin of asking whether an agent should act on inputs it cannot verify.", "source_ids": ["PE24031"]}
    After: {"value": "A case about sensing. The regulator's stated focus is whether a camera-only driver-assistance system detects when glare, fog or dust has degraded its own perception, and warns the human supervising it in time to respond; in the crashes it reviewed, it says the system did not detect the problem or did not warn until immediately before the crash. The record does not show a defect finding or a recall, and the regulator does not yet know when the maker's updated detection reached which vehicles. It is the physical twin of an agent that keeps acting on inputs it cannot verify without saying so.", "source_ids": ["PE24031", "EA26002_OPEN", "EA26002"]}
  • 2026-10-20: Controls: c-e2. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: neither cited record states that no engagement restriction exists; the ea26002-01 letter (request 7) asks tesla which reduced-visibility conditions make the system 'disengage ..., handing over control to the driver', so the regulator has not established it, and quotes tesla posts 'fsd supervised can drive in whiteout conditions' and 'fsd supervised isn't limited to select highways or specific conditions'. high confidence was not supported; bucket unchanged.
    Show the change
    Before: {"note": "Engagement restriction in low visibility (not evidenced)", "confidence": "high"}
    After: {"note": "No hard restriction on engaging FSD in reduced visibility is evidenced: NHTSA is still asking Tesla which reduced-visibility conditions make the system disengage, and quotes Tesla posts that FSD Supervised 'can drive in whiteout conditions' and 'isn't limited to select highways or specific conditions'", "confidence": "medium"}
  • 2026-10-20: Controls: c-v2: note. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the pe24031 opening resume is 'prompted by: standing general order (sgo) incident reports'; the ea26002 opening resume adds that 'tesla also described internal data and labeling limitations' and 'odi believes this limitation could have led to under-reporting of subject crashes'. bucket and confidence unchanged.
    Show the change
    Before: Mandatory crash reporting surfaced the pattern
    After: Mandatory crash reports under NHTSA's Standing General Order prompted the investigation; NHTSA also records Tesla's description of internal data and labeling limitations that NHTSA believes could have led to under-reporting of these crashes
  • 2026-10-20: Controls: c-i3: note. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the ea26002 opening resume defines the problem as 'failure of the fsd's degradation detection system ... to detect a degraded state and to warn the driver appropriately' and says the data 'raise concerns that tesla's degradation detection system, both as originally deployed and later updated, fails to detect and/or warn the driver appropriately'. bucket and confidence unchanged.
    Show the change
    Before: Reduced-visibility detection (under investigation)
    After: Degraded-visibility detection and driver warning: NHTSA's stated concern is that FSD's degradation detection system, as first deployed and as updated, fails to detect a degraded state in glare and airborne obscurants and to warn the driver in time (concerns under investigation, not a finding)
  • 2026-10-20: Outcome: as of. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the latest nhtsa document in the ea26002 file is the 22 september 2026 extension memo; nhtsa's public investigation record for ea26002, read 20 october 2026, shows no closing date and no recall, so the outcome stands as of october 2026.
    Show the change
    Before: Jul 2026
    After: Oct 2026
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: recovery accountability. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the upgrade happened on 18 march 2026 (pe24031 closing resume: 'date closed: 03/18/2026', 'upgraded to an engineering analysis'; ea26002 opening resume: 'date opened: 03/18/2026', population 3,203,754, 'six recent potentially related incidents'), not in july 2026 as the only cited ea document implied. the 2 july 2026 letter set a response date of 12 august 2026; nhtsa's 22 september 2026 memo extends one request to 18 november 2026.
    Show the change
    Before: {"value": "Preliminary evaluation opened 17 October 2024 covering about 2.4 million vehicles; later upgraded to Engineering Analysis EA26002, covering nine crashes; outcome pending", "source_ids": ["PE24031", "EA26002"]}
    After: {"value": "Preliminary Evaluation PE24031 opened 17 October 2024 (estimated 2,410,002 vehicles, four crashes). NHTSA closed it and opened Engineering Analysis EA26002 on 18 March 2026 (estimated 3,203,754 vehicles, nine crashes, and six more potentially related incidents to analyse). Information request EA26002-01 was sent to Tesla on 2 July 2026 with a response due 12 August 2026; NHTSA has granted Tesla partial extensions, the latest on 22 September 2026 moving one answer to 18 November 2026. Outcome pending", "source_ids": ["PE24031", "PE24031_CLOSE", "EA26002_OPEN", "EA26002", "EA26002_EXT"]}
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: recovery automated fallback. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the ea26002 opening resume states the system did not 'provide alerts when camera performance had deteriorated until immediately before the crash occurred'; the ea26002-01 letter (request 7) asks tesla which conditions make the system disengage and the time intervals to alert and disengagement. type kept as interpretation.
    Show the change
    Before: {"value": "Not evidenced", "source_ids": ["PE24031"], "confidence": "low"}
    After: {"value": "Not evidenced as working in these crashes: NHTSA states that in the crashes it reviewed the system did not alert the driver until immediately before the crash, if at all; which reduced-visibility conditions make the system hand control back to the driver, and how quickly, is among NHTSA's open questions to Tesla", "source_ids": ["EA26002_OPEN", "EA26002"], "confidence": "medium"}
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: outcome. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the ea26002 opening resume's failure report summary counts 9 crashes, 2 injury incidents, 1 injury, 1 fatality incident and 1 fatality; the outcome date moves to october 2026, when the investigation was confirmed still open.
    Show the change
    Before: {"value": "State: harm. One pedestrian fatality, one injury, among the four crashes in the opening resume. As of Jul 2026.", "source_ids": ["PE24031"]}
    After: {"value": "State: harm. One pedestrian fatality and one injury among the four crashes in the opening resume; NHTSA's March 2026 resumes count nine crashes, with one fatality, two injury incidents and one injury. As of Oct 2026.", "source_ids": ["PE24031", "EA26002_OPEN"]}
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: envelope constraints: source ids. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the pe24031 opening resume is silent on engagement restrictions; the ea26002-01 letter asks tesla which reduced-visibility conditions make the system 'disengage ..., handing over control to the driver' (request 7) and quotes tesla posts that fsd supervised 'isn't limited to select highways or specific conditions'.
    Show the change
    Before: ["PE24031"]
    After: ["EA26002"]
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: decision. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the ea26002 opening resume narrows the question to the 'degradation detection system' and its ability 'to detect degradation and alert the driver with sufficient time to respond', and states that in reviewed crashes the system 'did not detect common roadway conditions that impaired camera visibility and/or provide alerts ... until immediately before the crash occurred' and that fsd 'lost track of or never detected a lead vehicle in its path'; odi writes that the data 'raise concerns'.
    Show the change
    Before: {"value": "Not disclosed; the investigation asks whether the system's engineering controls detect and respond appropriately to reduced visibility", "source_ids": ["PE24031"]}
    After: {"value": "Not disclosed. The investigation by NHTSA (the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) opened to assess whether FSD's engineering controls detect and respond appropriately to reduced visibility; since March 2026 it focuses on FSD's degradation detection system and whether it detects a degraded state and alerts the driver with time to respond. NHTSA states that in the crashes it reviewed the system did not detect conditions that impaired camera visibility, or did not alert the driver, until immediately before the crash, and that in further crashes found in Tesla's responses FSD also lost track of or never detected a lead vehicle in its path. These are concerns NHTSA has raised, not a defect finding", "source_ids": ["PE24031", "EA26002_OPEN"]}
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: actor. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the pe24031 opening resume gives 'population: 2,410,002 (estimated)' for model years 2016-2024; the ea26002 opening resume (18 march 2026) gives 'population: 3,203,754 (estimated)' for 2016-2026 model s, x, 2017-2026 model 3, 2020-2026 model y and 2023-2026 cybertruck.
    Show the change
    Before: {"value": "FSD (Supervised) across roughly 2.4 million vehicles, model years 2016 to 2024", "source_ids": ["PE24031"]}
    After: {"value": "FSD (FSD Beta or FSD (Supervised)) on an estimated 2,410,002 vehicles, model years 2016 to 2024, when the investigation opened; the Engineering Analysis opened in March 2026 covers an estimated 3,203,754 vehicles, model years 2016 to 2026", "source_ids": ["PE24031", "EA26002_OPEN"]}
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: mandate objective. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the ea26002-01 letter defines the subject system as fsd-beta and fsd-supervised, 'also referred to as fsd or autosteer on city streets', deployed 'on public roadways within the united states'. autosteer on city streets is another name for the system, not a part of it, and the letter does not say 'surface streets and highways'.
    Show the change
    Before: FSD (Supervised), including Autosteer on City Streets, on surface streets and highways under driver supervision
    After: FSD Beta and FSD (Supervised), also referred to as Autosteer on City Streets, used on public roadways in the United States under driver supervision
  • 2026-10-20: Fields: mandate principal: source ids. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the pe24031 opening resume names tesla as manufacturer but does not say drivers supervise; the ea26002-01 letter calls the system a "'full self-driving'-supervised partial automation system" and describes tesla's website footnote as stating that 'active supervision is required'.
    Show the change
    Before: ["PE24031"]
    After: ["PE24031", "EA26002"]
  • 2026-10-20: Context: actor type. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the pe24031 opening resume and the ea26002 records cover 'fsd-beta or fsd-supervised (collectively, fsd)'.
    Show the change
    Before: Physical: Tesla vehicles running FSD (Supervised)
    After: Physical: Tesla vehicles running Full Self-Driving (FSD Beta or FSD (Supervised))
  • 2026-10-20: Context: domain. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: 'level 2' appears in neither cited record; the pe24031 opening resume calls fsd 'a system labeled by tesla as a partial driving automation system'. camera-only sensing is now sourced to the ea26002 opening resume: fsd 'relies exclusively on vision-based cameras'.
    Show the change
    Before: Driver-assistance automation (Level 2, camera-only sensing)
    After: Driver-assistance automation (partial driving automation, camera-only sensing)
  • 2026-10-20: Title. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the pe24031 opening resume covers crashes 'with fsd-beta or fsd-supervised (collectively, fsd) engaged'; naming only fsd (supervised) narrowed the product under investigation.
    Show the change
    Before: NHTSA opens an investigation into Tesla Full Self-Driving (Supervised) after crashes in reduced visibility, including a fatal pedestrian strike, October 2024
    After: NHTSA opens an investigation into Tesla Full Self-Driving after crashes in reduced visibility, including a fatal pedestrian strike, October 2024
  • 2026-10-20: Sources: ea26002: title. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the document at this link is the 2 july 2026 letter headed 'subject: information request id ea26002-01', signed by the director of the office of defects investigation; it is not the upgrade document. the upgrade is recorded in the pe24031 closing resume and the ea26002 opening resume, both dated 18 march 2026.
    Show the change
    Before: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, EA26002 information request: Full Self-Driving in reduced visibility (upgrade from PE24031), 2026
    After: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, letter to Tesla, Inc., 'Information Request ID EA26002-01' (Engineering Analysis EA26002), 2 July 2026
  • 2026-10-20: Sources: pe24031: title. Found in the editor's source re-check of 19-20 october 2026: the opening resume's subject line reads 'fsd collisions in reduced roadway visibility conditions'; the title paraphrased it. source re-opened and checked date updated.
    Show the change
    Before: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, ODI Resume PE24031 (opening): Full Self-Driving collisions in reduced roadway visibility conditions
    After: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, ODI Resume PE24031 (opening), subject 'FSD Collisions in Reduced Roadway Visibility Conditions'
  • 2026-10-16: Controls: c-i3: confidence. Found in an outside review of the published record on 16 october 2026: the federal investigation is open, so the failure is not established at high confidence.
    Show the change
    Before: high
    After: medium
  • 2026-10-13: Fields. Independent check against the linked records before right-of-reply letters.
    Show the change
    Before: objective cited to the opening resume; inference said 'camera-only system'
    After: objective from the engineering-analysis request; inference no longer asserts the sensor suite, which the cited records do not state
  • 2026-10-13: Fields and sources. Claims aligned to what each linked record says, found on review.
    Show the change
    Before: pedestrian fatality located 'Arizona, November 2023'; 'the system relies on cameras' cited to the resume; 'preliminary evaluation opened; outcome pending'
    After: location removed (not in the resume); camera claim removed from the inputs (not in the resume); upgrade to EA26002 recorded
Record history · 8 entries
  • 2026-10-28: No statement from Tesla within 14 days of the offer.
  • 2026-10-22: Follow-up note sent to Tesla on claims added in a correction round (in reviewed crashes the system did not detect impaired visibility or alert the driver until immediately before the crash, and lost track of or never detected a lead vehicle (Decision, Recovery automated fallback); detection fails as first deployed and as updated (control C-I3); NHTSA believes Tesla's data-labelling limits could have led to under-reporting of crashes (control C-V2); the interpretation carries the regulator's finding and says the system keeps acting on inputs it cannot verify without saying so); 14 days to reply on those points.
  • 2026-10-20: Source added: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, 'Memo Granting IR Response Extension Request for EA26002-01', 22 September 2026.
  • 2026-10-20: Source added: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, ODI Resume PE24031 (closing), subject 'FSD Collisions in Reduced Roadway Visibility Conditions'.
  • 2026-10-20: Source added: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, ODI Resume EA26002 (opening), subject 'FSD Collisions in Reduced Roadway Visibility Conditions'.
  • 2026-10-16: Interpretation reworded for readers before sign-off; its meaning is unchanged.
  • 2026-10-14: Right of reply offered to Tesla.
  • 2026-10-14: Checked by the editor against the linked records.

Controls that address what went wrong

2 controls missing or failed; 1 in place and worked. The line under each is the concrete form it would have taken in this case.

Degraded-input detection
Degraded-visibility detection and driver warning: NHTSA's stated concern is that FSD's degradation detection system, as first deployed and as updated, fails to detect a degraded state in glare and airborne obscurants and to warn the driver in time (concerns under investigation, not a finding)
Failed · Inputs layer
Hard domain restriction
No hard restriction on engaging FSD in reduced visibility is evidenced: NHTSA is still asking Tesla which reduced-visibility conditions make the system disengage, and quotes Tesla posts that FSD Supervised 'can drive in whiteout conditions' and 'isn't limited to select highways or specific conditions'
Absent · Envelope layer
Reporting integrity
Worked: Mandatory crash reports under NHTSA's Standing General Order prompted the investigation. NHTSA also records Tesla's description of internal data and labeling limitations that NHTSA believes could have led to under-reporting of these crashes.
Worked · Evidence layer

New cases like this, once a week. A short email when a case, signal or rule touches machines. Free; unsubscribe in one click.

Get the weekly email

How it unfolded, layer by layer

MandateWhat it was told to do
Who deployed it: Tesla as maker; each driver as supervisor. The task: FSD Beta and FSD (Supervised), also referred to as Autosteer on City Streets, used on public roadways in the United States under driver supervision.
ActorWhat acted
FSD (FSD Beta or FSD (Supervised)) on an estimated 2,410,002 vehicles, model years 2016 to 2024, when the investigation opened; the Engineering Analysis opened in March 2026 covers an estimated 3,203,754 vehicles, model years 2016 to 2026
InputsWhat it could see
Reduced roadway visibility: sun glare, fog, airborne dust
DecisionHow it chose
Not disclosed. The investigation by NHTSA (the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) opened to assess whether FSD's engineering controls detect and respond appropriately to reduced visibility; since March 2026 it focuses on FSD's degradation detection system and whether it detects a degraded state and alerts the driver with time to respond. NHTSA states that in the crashes it reviewed the system did not detect conditions that impaired camera visibility, or did not alert the driver, until immediately before the crash, and that in further crashes found in Tesla's responses FSD also lost track of or never detected a lead vehicle in its path. These are concerns NHTSA has raised, not a defect finding
EnvelopeWhat it was allowed to do
Limits in place: No stated restriction preventing engagement in reduced visibility. Basis: The open question is whether the controls were adequate for the conditions the product was sold into.
ActionWhat it did
Four crashes with FSD engaged in reduced visibility, one striking a pedestrian
OutcomeWhat happened
Ended in harm. Severity: fatality.
EvidenceWhat can be proven
Record of the event: Crash reports filed under the Standing General Order; the regulator's own resume.
RecoveryWhat could be stopped, undone, answered for
Automatic fallback: Not evidenced as working in these crashes: NHTSA states that in the crashes it reviewed the system did not alert the driver until immediately before the crash, if at all; which reduced-visibility conditions make the system hand control back to the driver, and how quickly, is among NHTSA's open questions to Tesla. Accountability: Preliminary Evaluation PE24031 opened 17 October 2024 (estimated 2,410,002 vehicles, four crashes). NHTSA closed it and opened Engineering Analysis EA26002 on 18 March 2026 (estimated 3,203,754 vehicles, nine crashes, and six more potentially related incidents to analyse). Information request EA26002-01 was sent to Tesla on 2 July 2026 with a response due 12 August 2026; NHTSA has granted Tesla partial extensions, the latest on 22 September 2026 moving one answer to 18 November 2026. Outcome pending.

The same gap in other cases

Cases where the same control was missing or failed. Those in another world are the cross-domain comparisons the Register exists to make.

ControlSame worldOther worlds
Degraded-input detectionZoox smoke scene 2026, Cruise 2023·
Hard domain restrictionWaymo construction zones 2026, Benavides v. Tesla 2025Replit and SaaStr 2025 (software agents)

Cost and accountability

Severityfatality
Affectedone pedestrian killed; one injured
Costnot disclosed
Regulatory or legal consequencepreliminary evaluation, upgraded to an engineering analysis
Technical recoveryAutomatic fallback: Not evidenced as working in these crashes: NHTSA states that in the crashes it reviewed the system did not alert the driver until immediately before the crash, if at all; which reduced-visibility conditions make the system hand control back to the driver, and how quickly, is among NHTSA's open questions to Tesla.
AccountabilityPreliminary Evaluation PE24031 opened 17 October 2024 (estimated 2,410,002 vehicles, four crashes). NHTSA closed it and opened Engineering Analysis EA26002 on 18 March 2026 (estimated 3,203,754 vehicles, nine crashes, and six more potentially related incidents to analyse). Information request EA26002-01 was sent to Tesla on 2 July 2026 with a response due 12 August 2026; NHTSA has granted Tesla partial extensions, the latest on 22 September 2026 moving one answer to 18 November 2026. Outcome pending
InterpretationWhy it matters beyond its domain. A case about sensing. The regulator's stated focus is whether a camera-only driver-assistance system detects when glare, fog or dust has degraded its own perception, and warns the human supervising it in time to respond; in the crashes it reviewed, it says the system did not detect the problem or did not warn until immediately before the crash. The record does not show a defect finding or a recall, and in March 2026 the regulator said it had no information on when the maker's updated detection was deployed or which vehicles had it. It is the physical twin of an agent that keeps acting on inputs it cannot verify without saying so. Signed by Saurabh Bhatnagar on 2026-10-21.

Right of reply

Named partyStatus
TeslaOffered 2026-10-14; no statement as of 2026-10-28Respond for Tesla

Help shape the Register

A person reads every answer; changes it leads to are logged in the methodology. To dispute a claim or reply for a named company, use Respond, dispute, or submit.

Did this page help with what you came to do?